In 2006, however, everything changed. At 26 years old, I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis. My jaw, knees, ankles, wrists, fingers and elbows were all stiff and sore, causing me to walk with a terrible limp and gimpy arm. It was like someone took a hammer to every joint. Sitting perfectly still was the only time I felt relief. Eventually I pulled myself together and managed to work up the determination to improve my health. My rheumatologist had prescribed me a medication that wiped out my immune system, relieving some of the pain, but I was looking for a better fix. I’m not one to idly sit by and wait for things to happen. I’ve always been a go-getter, and my health was no different. I was out to get my health back. After being told time and again from my rheumatologist that diet has nothing to do with the improvement of arthritis, I decided to toss his pessimism aside and become a vegan anyway. After all, what I did I have to lose? Making the decision to go vegan was the easiest choice I’ve ever made. Not only was I still affected by animals I saw caged up and mistreated, but I also learned that vegans are often generally healthier than meat-eaters. After I changed my diet, I began to notice a few things: Every day I learn new things about my body and soul, listening to what it tells me. Ever since I tuned into the power of eating a plant-based diet, I have become healthier, happier and more at peace with my condition, confident that one day, it will be gone.