I’ve also started incorporating aromatherapy into my desk life. Around 3 p.m. every day I’ll give myself a spray of this amazing mineral mist from 3rd Ritual. I’ve also offered it to co-workers who come over with anxious energy, and it helps calm them down. If I’m at a place where things are just way too much (I’m a chronic overscheduler by nature) I will cancel a whole day of plans to reset and regroup. This day is like a dire mental health day and I’ll usually start cleaning the whole apartment and blast the Rolling Stones (my mom always listens to it while she cleans), which makes me feel better and gives me tangible concrete things to tackle (e.g., bleach the grout in the tub, deep-clean the refrigerator, reorganize the closet) instead of following around loops of thoughts in my head. I always feel more focused and at peace when my space is squared away, plus at least I tire myself out and can lie down in an organized space. Realize that nothing is permanent. Along those same lines, looking back on times of discomfort and tracking your thoughts helps you to realize that your state is constantly changing. I find change to be comforting in knowing that everything will pass and no state of discomfort can last forever. Belly breathing helped my panic attacks. I used to have a lot of panic attacks before I knew how to control them. This was a vicious cycle because the fear of having them led to more occurring. Learning the simple tool of belly breathing has allowed me to control a panic attack in a number of seconds and this control is empowering and has reduced my fear or panic significantly. Sitting with the discomfort was very helpful. Finally, I think anxious people will always battle with anxiety, but it’s how you respond that really determines how much you suffer. I find that when I’m anxious, sitting with it and accepting it is the best response…rather than avoiding it, which really just builds fear. In my opinion, having the strength to just sit with your anxiety is what truly makes you “beat it” because you realize that it is manageable and that it passes. These days I try to think of my anxiety not as my enemy but as my teacher. It often knows that I’m off track before I’m really conscious of it and sends me signals that I need to slow down and assess my needs. Drinking a green juice daily has also been a significant contributor to my health by adding the necessary nutrients my body needs to fully function at its optimal level. If you’re one of the 18 percent plagued by anxiety, try these anxiety-busting teas and learn how to strengthen your vagus nerve, the body part responsible for anxiety and stress.

Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 98Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 99Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 66Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 89Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 94Real People Explain How They Cope With Their Anxiety - 26