That said, when an eye cream adds color-correcting pigments to the mix, I’m absolutely game. (Why not streamline the two steps?) Recently, I’ve been testing Ole Henriksen’s upgraded Banana Bright+ Eye Crème, and it’s been especially transformative for my sallow, tired under-eyes. And that formula is pretty dang good, if I do say so myself. The hero ingredient is, of course, vitamin C, specifically three forms of the powerful antioxidant to really enhance brightness and skin rejuvenation: a vitamin C complex of ascorbic acid, master antioxidant glutathione, and real gold; the stable and brightening ​​3-O-ethyl ascorbic acid. The oil-soluble form, called tetrahexyldecyl ascorbate, notably pairs well with other types of vitamin C. Science jargon aside, just know that combining forms of vitamin C can help with the stability and efficacy of the product. For this eye cream in particular, I can certainly see the ingredients at work.

Ole Henriksen Banana Bright+ Eye Créme I generally stick to eye creams with a thinner, serum-like consistency during the day since they typically layer better under makeup (especially during summer). However, I find that this creamy, rich formula immediately melts into my skin, and thanks to the yellow-peach color-correcting tones, I don’t need to swipe on nearly as much concealer. It’s a minimal makeup lover’s dream.  Now, I wouldn’t say this eye cream delivers full coverage; rather, I’d consider it “concealer lite,” great for no-makeup days when I want to disguise my dark shadows without digging through my cosmetic bag. And honestly? I tend to stick to lightweight color correctors over concealers anyway, especially during peak humidity (hello, August!) when the less makeup I can layer on, the better.   

Ole Henriksen Banana Bright+ Eye Créme

Ole Henriksen Banana Bright  Eye Cr me Beauty Editor Review - 14Ole Henriksen Banana Bright  Eye Cr me Beauty Editor Review - 92Ole Henriksen Banana Bright  Eye Cr me Beauty Editor Review - 10Ole Henriksen Banana Bright  Eye Cr me Beauty Editor Review - 29Ole Henriksen Banana Bright  Eye Cr me Beauty Editor Review - 75