I repeated this resolution all the time in conversations (“I’m focused on being happy this year”) and let it guide many a decision. Ultimately, it led me to a new home, a new career, and much more that I never expected or even dreamed was possible. As wild and risky as it often felt to make the choices that would bring me joy, doing so ended up bringing me to what was, in many ways, the most successful year I’d ever had. After that, that practice of choosing more happiness in even the smallest ways became somewhat second nature. Fast-forward to this past year. During such a tumultuous time, making joy my greatest commodity was even more of a challenge. Still, I tried to find it as often as possible—and designing my environment for happiness really helped.  Bringing more joy to your home can be a way of focusing on the small and big moments that light up life and keep the positive momentum flowing. Here are some small ideas that can have a big impact on joy at home: And with that, I’m wishing you and your home so much joy in the year ahead. She’s a Stanford-educated art historian with more than a decade of experience in design yet her approach to space is simple. Claudat is a longtime mindbodygreen contributor and instructor (she may have had a hand in the hundreds of plants in mindbodygreen headquarters!), and her work has been featured in design and lifestyle publications around the world. You can work with her from wherever you are in the world in her online Feng Shui Camps and through her Online Feng Shui Consultations. You can sign up for her weekly Feng Shui Rituals, including rituals for every New and Full Moon, right here!

How To Design Your Home For Joy  8 Simple Strategies - 63How To Design Your Home For Joy  8 Simple Strategies - 53How To Design Your Home For Joy  8 Simple Strategies - 29