Needless to say, her days are back-to-back busy, but she’s recently committed to making them more sustainable when she can. Climate change is a big topic on her whole family’s mind, so Duff recently partnered with Unilever and Walmart on their Bring It to the Bin campaign that educates consumers on recycling best practices. “I care about the planet and the future of what it looks like for my kids…and generations to follow us. The time is now to be responsible and lower our carbon footprint,” she says of the inspiration for the partnership. “Every time I’ve dieted before and cut carbs and sugar, there’s been such a daunting feeling of ‘I’m being deprived, I’m being deprived.’ I’m a really balanced person, and I like to have freedom. With the macros it’s cool because I haven’t had to cut anything out that I love. It’s just about making sure my body is getting the right amount of protein and fat and carbohydrates—and then I get to choose what those are. So if I’m feeling really hungry one day, I know that I need to eat a lot more of the healthy things to meet those numbers, but if the next day I’m not as hungry, I can have something I really enjoy… And I love to chew. Other diets have been like, oh have a soup, and I’m like no. I have to chew something. “It’s been awesome, and I’ve lost 10 or 11 pounds, and I feel really happy. I also feel really energized. I’m eating every three hours. I have to do that, just with kids and the pace I have to keep throughout the day.” “[When I’m splurging,] I love pizza, breakfast sandwiches…and I love a burger. We just bought Beyond Burgers, and I think tomorrow is going to be our day to get dirty with a Beyond Burger, and we’re so excited. And then drinking: I love wine. I love a margarita.” Emma received her B.A. in Environmental Science & Policy with a specialty in environmental communications from Duke University. In addition to penning over 1,000 mbg articles on topics from the water crisis in California to the rise of urban beekeeping, her work has appeared on Grist, Bloomberg News, Bustle, and Forbes. She’s spoken about the intersection of self-care and sustainability on podcasts and live events alongside environmental thought leaders like Marci Zaroff, Gay Browne, and Summer Rayne Oakes.

Hilary Duff On Sustainable Living  Eating Clean   Parenting Well - 11Hilary Duff On Sustainable Living  Eating Clean   Parenting Well - 63Hilary Duff On Sustainable Living  Eating Clean   Parenting Well - 76Hilary Duff On Sustainable Living  Eating Clean   Parenting Well - 94