It is hard to trust a fool who repeatedly makes poor choices. It is even harder to trust someone you know is prone to lying. When he looked at me and said, “Where are you, Mommy?” I knew I was in trouble. There are many things I did that were acceptable for me but not acceptable for my children. Teaching my children to lie and to be afraid were among those highly unacceptable things. It took me a good minute, but I eventually figured out that the things I did and said that I was not proud of were the result of my not trusting myself. Eventually, through the process of compassionate self-forgiveness and a commitment to building and strengthening my character, I discovered that self-trust was my life preserver and my only hope. Vanzant has a Juris Doctor degree from the City University of New York School of Law and a master’s degree from the University of Santa Monica’s Center for the Study and Practice of Spiritual Psychology. She’s also an ordained New Thought minister. On her award-winning reality television show, Vanzant shares her wisdom with a focus on faith, empowerment, and loving relationships.

Do You Trust Yourself  21 Signs You Need To Build Self Trust - 77Do You Trust Yourself  21 Signs You Need To Build Self Trust - 65Do You Trust Yourself  21 Signs You Need To Build Self Trust - 99