But these updated balms play double duty: They simultaneously replenish the skin barrier with healthy lipids (as opposed to those traditional jelly salves, which really just sit atop it to keep precious water locked in). Think of it like slugging 2.0. 

cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Instead of mineral oil (or beeswax or lanolin, which are common occlusive alternatives), cocokind’s formula features sugar-cane-derived squalane, which is known for maintaining the skin’s moisture barrier. In fact: “Squalene is a natural oil produced by the sebaceous glands in your skin. It plays a role in skin hydration and barrier protection,” board-certified dermatologist Joshua Zeichner, M.D., once said regarding the ingredient. “Squalane is a cousin to squalene that can be produced in the lab from botanical sources. Squalane can give similar emollient benefits to its cousin squalene.” It also includes oat kernel oil, which is like colloidal oatmeal’s supercharged cousin: As board-certified dermatologist Hadley King, M.D., previously told mbg, “The lipid component of colloidal oatmeal is oat oil.” The actual oil is extracted from the seed kernels of the Avena sativa or oat plant. Nothing against colloidal oat extract—it’s a wonderful anti-inflammatory ingredient—but when you apply oat oil, you’re literally feeding the skin those targeted, soothing lipids.  And in case you still aren’t convinced of this balm’s skin-nourishing properties, know that it contains ceramides, which function as the literal “glue” that holds your skin barrier together. “When applied topically, ceramides mimic the skin’s own moisturizing system,” says clean cosmetic chemist Krupa Koestline. What’s more, research shows creams with ceramides can improve hydration and decrease transepidermal water loss significantly over 24 hours1.  I love cocokind’s rich yet non-greasy formulas (their Resurrection Polypeptide Cream is also a winner in my book), so I was super excited to test this recovery balm ahead of launch. Rather than applying as an allover slugging balm, though, I targeted my roughest areas: my forehead, neck, and décolletage. I also applied some balm on my lips, for good measure (because, yes, lip slugging is a thing you should be doing).  Come morning, I was pleasantly surprised to find my skin looking supple and hydrated. It felt so soft, in fact, that I kept running my fingers over it in disbelief. The results are really that good. My forehead lines also looked way smoother—practically nonexistent. I kept the balm on my desk with me during the day, too, to rub over my cuticles and replenish my lips. Remember: This is a multipurpose balm that delivers hydration all over, and my hands could certainly use the extra love.  Overall, I’d say the term “skin salve” is just right. cocokind’s Ceramide Recovery Balm is a true savior that calms and nourishes your skin without feeling too heavy or greasy. I should note, I’m currently on a trip to the Arizona desert and have made this my go-to moisturizer. And I’m happy to report that I have awoken 100% flake-free. As someone whose skin easily withers up out West, I consider this a true success. 

cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm

cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 42cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 54cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 87cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 68cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 87cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 60cocokind Ceramide Recovery Balm Beauty Editor Review - 4