“Supporting Black businesses is important because that’s the way communities grow and sustain. Black-owned businesses are more likely to hire other black people. It all starts the trend of building and supporting the community,” Kristian Henderson, DrPH, professor of public health at George Washington University, a natural lifestyle enthusiast, and the founder of BLK+GRN, tells mbg in a Q&A. “Being a conscientious consumer, in general, is really important. Every time I spend money, I’m deciding what I invest in. So if I say I believe in black women entrepreneurs, if I say I believe in not supporting child labor, if I say I believe in making sure that things are ethically sourced, then the question is: Would the way I spend my money also reflect those same belief systems? I also see that investment beyond the product I’m purchasing. Not only do you get the product, but you’re investing in someone else’s dreams.”

Black Owned   Founded Wellness Brands  75  Companies To Check Out - 44Black Owned   Founded Wellness Brands  75  Companies To Check Out - 48Black Owned   Founded Wellness Brands  75  Companies To Check Out - 57Black Owned   Founded Wellness Brands  75  Companies To Check Out - 62