The condition encompasses a range of symptoms and can be different for everyone. Some people experience flashbacks while others have panic attacks. Depression and anxiety are hallmarks, and those with PTSD may feel the need to avoid people, places, and things that can act as “triggers” of their often debilitating symptoms. One of the hardest parts of dealing with PTSD is how hard we can be on ourselves. We invalidate our own feelings, thinking that we have no right to feel this way. Others probably have it worse, we tell ourselves. There is absolutely no shame in suffering from post-traumatic stress disorder; it doesn’t matter if your condition stemmed from an abusive boyfriend or from being a prisoner of war. We cannot compare our experiences to others. Everyone’s bodies and minds react to events differently, and you didn’t get PTSD from not being strong enough. Mental illness should never be stigmatized like that. An estimated 24.4 million people in American alone suffer from PTSD, with women being twice as likely as men to experience the condition. Sadly, it’s very common in our society, but it’s important to know that there are tools to help you heal. If I was able to find my way to bliss, I hope that other people can. And the first step is to make the choice to heal. For me, actually getting diagnosed with PTSD was a turning point that led me in the direction of healing. Here are the holistic tools that finally helped me overcome my PTSD: Suffering from PTSD is overwhelming, but these tools can help you heal. I began my journey with small, easily doable steps and gradually built up my mental and physical health with a holistic and integrative approach that provided me with sustainable long-term relief. Visit your doctor, take pride in your strength and desire to heal, be mindful of your body’s needs for nutrition and movement, and begin to cultivate calmness. Ever wonder why breathwork is so great at calming anxiety? Well, it has everything to do with the vagus nerve.

9 Tools That Helped Me Overcome My PTSD - 229 Tools That Helped Me Overcome My PTSD - 349 Tools That Helped Me Overcome My PTSD - 17